New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission offers information regarding license restoration, points, suspensions, and surcharges. Call 609-292-7500 or visit their website.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Statutes
Find information about New Jersey Motor Vehicle Statutes.
Motor Vehicle Violations
There are two ways to dispose of a traffic ticket in the Municipal Court.
- If the violation does not require a court appearance, you may pay the ticket through the Violations Bureau, either by mail or in person. Payments cannot be taken over the phone. Payments of cash, Visa or Master Card, check, or money order are accepted at the Violations Bureau Monday through Friday from 9 am to 4 pm.
- If you are unsure of the amount of your fine, or if a court appearance is required, please call the court at 732-416-1842. Payments are due by the court appearance date on the bottom of your ticket.
Statewide Violations Schedule
Below is a list of the most commonly issued summons offenses and the penalties assessed for each. Please be advised, however, that if your ticket was issued in a "Construction Zone" you must call the court to determine the amount due.
|3-4||Unregistered Vehicle||$ 54|
|3-29||Failure to Exhibit Documents (only if Drivers License or Registration is checked off)||$180|
|3-33||Unclear Plates||$ 54|
|3-76.2f||Failure to Wear Seatbelt||$ 46|
|4-81||Failure to Observe Signal||85|
|4-124||Failure to Turn||85|
|4-144||Failure to Stop or Yield||85|
|8-1||Failure to Inspect||$130|
|8-4||Failure to Make Repairs||$130|
Additionally, per 4-98, the following penalties are for exceeding the respectful speed limits:
- 1 to 9 miles per hour - $85
- 10 to 14 miles per hour - $95
- 15 to 19 miles per hour - $105
- 20 to 24 miles per hour - $200
- 25 to 29 miles per hour - $220
- 30 to 34 miles per hour - $240
Point Schedule for Moving Violations
See the Suspensions and Restorations webpage.