Dog & Cat Licensing
Requirement by Law
Per NJ.S.A. 4:19-15.2, the New Jersey Department of Health requires that all New Jersey Residents who own or harbor a dog or cat 7 months of age or older, are required to annually apply for and procure a license in the municipality where it is kept. Failure to obtain a valid animal license can result in a fine in accordance with Spotswood Borough Code Section 46-2.
All animal licenses are for the calendar year, January 1 through December 31. All license renewals must be received by January 31st of the licensing year; postmarks are not acceptable. Renewal applications received after January 31st of the licensing year are subject to a $5 late fee per license. License fees are not pro-rated.
No licenses can be issued if rabies vaccinations are expired.
Spaying / Neutering
Spaying/neutering is not required. Veterinarian's documentation of spaying/neutering is required for all new licenses, or if newly spayed/neutered since last licensing period.
State law requires that your animal's rabies vaccination must be valid through October 31st of the current licensing year. If your animal's rabies vaccination expires any time between January and October of the current year, the animal will need to be re-vaccinated before a license can be issued. Proof of updated vaccinations must accompany all renewals.
For more information about the free rabies clinics run throughout Middlesex County, please contact the Middlesex County Health Department at 732-745-3100.
How to Apply
All applications and/or renewals for animal licenses should be remitted to the Borough by mail, along with a check or money order made payable to the Borough of Spotswood. Or, for your convenience, a payment lockbox has been installed in the Municipal Building lobby to the left of the elevator. The Municipal building is located at:
77 Summerhill Road
Spotswood, NJ 08884
Please include all appropriate documentation with applications; copies only; do not send originals. Failure to provide the appropriate documentation and/or payment will result in your application/renewal being returned unprocessed - no exceptions. Copies will not be returned.
Fees for Licenses
- Spayed / Neutered
- License for New Animal Only - $14
- Renewals Prior to March 31st - $14
- Renewals After to March 31st - $19
- Non-Spayed / Non-Neutered
- License for New Animal Only - $17
- Renewals Prior to March 31st - $17
- Renewals After to March 31st - $22
For information regarding the replacement of lost tags (current year only), please contact the animal licensing department at 732-416-1885.