top of page


Medicare Savings Programs are federal programs that help low-income individuals with some
of the out-of-pocket costs for Medicare, including Medicare Part A and Part B premiums,
deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance.

There are four types of Medicare Savings Programs: Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB)
Program, Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) Program, Qualifying
Individual (QI) Program, and Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWI)
Benefits vary for each program, but all of them, with the exception of the QDWI
Program, help pay for Medicare Part B premiums.

To qualify, you must have or be eligible for Medicare Part A and have income and resources
below a certain threshold. The income and resource requirements are different for each of the
four Medicare Savings Programs and may change from year to year.

If you qualify for a QMB, SLMB, or QI program, you automatically qualify to get Extra Help, aka as LIS (Low Income Subsidy) to help pay for Medicare prescription drug coverage. 

For more information on these programs, click here.

bottom of page